Never Been Kissed

Today’s prompt:

His steel-grey eyes are flecked with blue and right now, they are glaring at me from across the couch.

‘Would you stop doing that. You’re going to get a squint.’ I laugh and bend over to lace up my boots. ‘It’s really not that big of a deal. I mean, you’ve dated two of my friends and granted they hate you now, but I had to listen to them blabber about you for weeks. I haven’t even said anything to you.’

I glance at his scowling face from beneath my hair. His feet are propped up on the coffee table and his arms are folded at his chest in disdain. ‘You’re disgusting. I can’t help that I’m the way I am, but you? You purposely did this to me.’ He drags his feet from the table and shifts along the sofa. ‘Why?’ He feigns a sob and sighs exasperatedly.

Chris and I have been friends for two years but there was always a slight bit of tension between us so I tend to avoid relationship conversations with him. I unload that on my sister. I sit up and study his pained expression with a smile tugging at the corners of my mouth.

‘You really need to chill out.’ I get up and test my balance. The heels are’t too high but my nervousness coupled with my clumsiness increases my chances of falling so I edge slowly towards the mirror in the corner of my bedroom and sidestep piles of clothes to study my reflection. I fiddle with my hair and flip it around to muss it up but it still sits neatly and freshly straightened, half-way down my back. Chris tugs at a light brown highlight, at odds with the rest of my black hair.

‘He’s decent but I don’t want you to go out with him tonight. He’s not right for you.’ He drops the strand and lies down on my bed. ‘Don’t go.’

‘It’s a date not a marriage. Would you please stop acting like my mother, I might as well have organised it for a night that she would be home so I could hear repeat everything you say. Jesus, Chris, lighten up.’ I roll my eyes angrily and continue to apply mascara.

‘I’m just looking out for you. Don’t be like that. I like your dress.’

I can see him staring at my back and I feel the heat rising in my cheeks. I’ve tried to dress sexily, yet modestly at the same time, but I still feel exposed. Especially with Chris watching me. I catch his eye and smile in the mirror. The dress is short and figure-hugging with a strip of lace down each side of my body. I switch my boots for ones that have less heel but lace up at the front and stop short at the knee.

‘Chris? I ju-‘

I turn around to find him standing extremely close. He leans down and kisses me chastely. When he pulls back, I’m standing limply and I can feel my knees shaking. My first kiss is with the brother of my date. I hear the car door slam, and immediately look at the clock. He’s here.

2 thoughts on “Never Been Kissed

  1. Dead lines | polysyllabic profundities

  2. Never Been Kissed – I'm Afraid Of The Dark

Leave a Reply

