Casual racism

I know it’s a jump from blogging about Justin Timberlake but I read that Simon Cowell made this comment: “[Justin Timberlake’s] just some white kid who’s tried to act black over the last several years” – and I thought it would make sense for me to address something that I’ve been thinking about for a while in my next post.

Being Asian, I have experienced racists comments since I was a child and being young, I didn’t understand that being Asian was something to be proud of. Instead I considered it to be like a pen mark that I couldn’t get rid of. I began to expect racism, whether it was casual or intended to offend.

As I grew up, I began to love my colour and on the occasion that people made racist remarks I couldn’t care less. I realised the world was becoming more cosmopolitan and diversity was embraced so it caught me off guard when a friend said something that separated me from everyone else.

‘You can’t like blondes.’

I asked him what he meant and he answered: ‘You can’t like blonde guys because you’re like you are. You know, Indian?’

I am rarely ever lost for words. I was completely stunned because I didn’t think that any of my friends harboured even remotely racist views. It shocked me more because he was South Korean and I wondered what rule made it okay for him to date a blonde girl but I had to stick to my own race? Especially, considering his mother and father are of different ethnic origins.

It made me look at things differently, though. Why are the princesses coupled with people of the same race in Disney films? Why, even on television, don’t they put people of different ethnicities together more? Are these the reasons that people unconsciously group other people into categories?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-1162718/Disney-feature-black-princess–critics-complain-falls-love-WHITE-prince.html

The above article can be interpreted in lots of ways. Personally, and this is only my opinion, I think that it is beneficial for society to portray diversity in relationships, especially to a younger age group.

The Princess and the Frog: Original Songs and ...

I think Disney should make a more modern film and it should be completely different:

– It should follow the adventures of a prince rather than a princess.

– The cast should have accents that don’t necessarily reflect their colour.

– Families should include a variety of ethnicities like in real life.

Disney has a huge impact on everyone and once there is less segregation in their films it will undoubtedly make an impact, however small, on society.

4 thoughts on “Casual racism

  1. “Why are the princesses coupled with people of the same race in Disney films? ”

    Disney fairy tales are mostly based on older European fairy tales (Sleeping Beauty, Beauty and the Beast, and The Hunchback of Notre Dame were all French; Cinderella was Russian; Hansel and Gretel and Snow White are German, etc.) the stories were European so… the characters were European. Granted, Disney should have showed a bit more creativity here, though arguably Ariel and the Prince weren’t even the same species.

    Of course, Aladdin was supposed to be Chinese and ended up Arabian instead because apparently someone mistook the tale-teller for the tale. Well, they tried…

    Maybe this is why I don’t like Disney anymore…

    • Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂 That’s a very good point… I think you’re right but I was thinking that the newer films (like Enchanted) could have been different considering some aren’t based on more traditional tales. Also, don’t stop liking Disney.. it may be slightly racist, sexist etc etc but some of their films taught me valuable life lessons – like don’t trust a half-octopus woman! 😀

      • That’s specist! I’m sure *most* half-octopus women are perfectly lovely and trustworthy! 😉

        Also, it’s funny you mentioned it, because I am writing a fairy tale as the Prince’s story 🙂 It always seemed a bit lopsided that all he had to be was handsome and, of course, a prince, and no further exposition of his character was ever required, but the princess of course must be kind and humble and charming and beautiful and a good singer and in communion with all the creatures of the forest (and, ideally, having lost her parents… hrm… )

  2. Hahaha! 😀 You’re right I am being a bit specist and considering the topic of my post… 😉

    That sounds really good! I hope you post it – I’d love to hear more about it! I’m not complaining that the prince has to be good looking to be honest! They generally don’t have a personality but the princess is always perfect. It makes you expect something entirely different from men and then when you grow up, you find that they are completely different to Prince Charming (although, I was always more of an Eric fan myself 🙂 ).

Leave a Reply

