Being a Size 0

I am a size 0. Well I would be if they didn’t keep printing the 1 in front of the 0. As it is, I am a size 10 – although I maintain that I most definitely am not.

When someone asks me what size I am, I wipe my face of all expression and take a second too long to answer. I debate whether to lie or not and after establishing that I probably won’t be able to maintain my lie because my memory is awful, I stare at my shoes and mumble my size. If the person is skinnier than me then it’s awkward. If they are larger than me then it’s awkward. Either way, their reaction is ‘oh’.

When I’m in public, I am constantly checking myself in shop windows, holding my stomach in and subtly comparing myself to other girls. I know I’m not fat but I’m not the perfect size either. Which brings me to the question I would like you all to debate. When did size 10 become ‘fat’?

As a teenager, there is unnecessary pressure on being slim. I find myself asking whether I would rather eat this or have my collarbones showing and would I rather eat that or have defined hipbones.

The Daily Mail said:

Fifteen is when the ‘teenage brain’ kicks in and becomes hard-wired to seek novelty, risk, excitement and the company of peers. All teenagers at this age are relentlessly comparing themselves to members of their own sex, and finding where they are in the pecking order in terms of attracting the opposite sex.

Summing up the age of 15 perfectly, The Daily Mail deduced that at certain ages we experience a new kind of pressure. When I was 10, the only kind of pressure I experienced was to buy the new type of mechanical pencil.

The pressure is not from one source, it’s from hundreds. We succumb to conformity and when society includes size 0 models, it’s no surprise that we want to be like them. Less being more and all that…

Leave a Reply

