Happy Happy Joy Joy

We cry for lots of reasons: sadness, pain, fear . . . and happiness. When was the last time you shed tears of joy?

I didn’t think that I’d ever cried tears of joy but I just realised that I have so I’m editing this post to include the real story.

Two years ago, we were held late after class. History was a boring subject so we didn’t think much of being held in and we just assumed that it was to scold us for talking.

The teacher shut off the slideshow and began talking hesitantly.

A girl in our class had been off school. We had previously assumed that she had caught the flu and was relaxing at home. We were partly right – she was ill but it wasn’t the flu.

‘Cancer. It’s a rare form but we can help her through this. We can -‘

At that moment, 26 pairs of eyes were shedding tears and 32 hands were gripping each other for support.

A year later, the girl (who at the time of her diagnosis had been nothing more to me than a classmate) had become my best friend. So last year when I received a message saying ‘I did it! I’m done! I just took my last medication!!!!’ I did cry.

So, I was wrong. I have cried with happiness. Just that once.

12 thoughts on “Happy Happy Joy Joy

  1. Shed a Happy Tear | Stuphblog

  2. Daily Prompt: Crying is it for fear, joy, sadness or pain? | My Daily Prompt Blog

  3. Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy | My Atheist Blog

  4. Tears of Joy | thelissachronicles

  5. I Have A Kneed To Cry | The Jittery Goat

  6. Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy | Joe's Musings

  7. The Shape Of Things To Come – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  8. Tears of Joy! | Bullets & Dreams

Leave a Reply

