The Social Network

Do you feel like you “get” social media, or do you just use it because that’s where all your friends and family are?

I laughed when I saw this prompt. Do I get social media? I’m a teenager in a  social-media-centred-world. If I didn’t “get” social media then people would think I lived in a bin on a remote corner of the planet.

My mother on the other hand… that is a completely different story. She’s relatively good with typing and clicking but when it comes to Facebook and Twitter and Youtube and WordPress and Tumblr and other things, she doesn’t have a clue. She asks me on a daily basis how to ‘Like’ something and what that means or what certain internet slang words mean. She hasn’t quite mastered memes on Fb but we’re getting there. I think she understands Grumpy Cat now: it’s a cat who’s grumpy.

She’s relatively good with social media…compared to my grandmother who has mastered ‘The Scroll’. I am a proud granddaughter.

If you want to master the internet lingo, this video will help:

(They do swear so please don’t watch if you find it offensive)

15 thoughts on “The Social Network

  1. Daily Prompt: The Social Network | Joe's Musings

  2. Awkward | Tommia's Tablet

  3. Social Media | paul scribbles

  4. Daily Prompt: The Social Network « Mama Bear Musings

  5. Do You Get Social Media? | Stuphblog

  6. Daily Prompt: The Social Media and it’s use | My Daily Prompt Blog

  7. Daily Prompt: The Social Network | My Atheist Blog

  8. Amazing Things Don’t Happen Here | The Jittery Goat

  9. Social Media Blitz – Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

